One of my biggest bug-bears is sharing logins where it isn’t necessary.

In that spirit – here’s a quick HOW TO add users to your Google Analytics account (such as your marketing person, or your web developer for example)

Why would you add them as users and not simply just share your login ?

There are 2 reasons

  1. Google allows you to add users , and grant them varying degrees of access (security management) – at no cost.
  2. It’s a security risk every time you share passwords with anyone – so whenever possible, you should use the option to add a user when it is available.

Adding a user places the control back in your hands. As the account owner, you can revoke, or adjust the login settings and permissions of that user at any time.

If you’ve shared the main account login however, the other person has the ability to “go rogue” , which happens less often than we think, but often enough that most people have a war story or 2.

What is required ?

A google email address. The other person only needs a google email address. Note this is NOT a GMAIL specifically , as any email address that is associated with a google account will work, including the G-Suite tools – or a Youtube login.

Here’s how

Login to your account, find the “View” or “website” that you are tracking , and then click on the Cog titled “Admin”on the bottom left of the screen to enter the Admin Settings

Then select Account User Management from the first column of options displayed on the screen under the Account heading (and beneath the big blue +Create Account button)

 

Click on the Big Blue plus button on the right of the next screen, and then select Add Users

 

 

 

Enter the email address (associated with a Google Account) for the user, and tick the boxes to apply the permissions you want to give them. And finally click on the blue ADD button to save and add them. Ensure you have ticked the NOTIFY option so that they get an email informing them of their access and details of their permissions.

 

If there are any errors, you will see a message confirming what to fix or change, otherwise the update will be saved and you will see the new user in the list of users once the screen closes.

Happy updating!

If you need assistance with any Google Account products for your business, staff or managing outside vendors and service providers  – you know where to find us! Reach out and lets have a secure and confidential discussion